UUFA Board of Trustees 2020-2021


How UUFA is Organized

Governance and Ministry UUFA, a mid-size congregation, uses a ‘Governance and Ministry’ structural model developed by independent consultant Dan Hotchkiss, formerly with the Alban Institute. The Board’s primary responsibilities include setting policies, monitoring finances, stewarding buildings and grounds, and some employment oversight. The Board delegates to the Minister, Ministry Council, and Staff, responsibilities regarding programs and the daily management of the Fellowship. The Minister also serves as Chief of Staff.

Click here to learn more about this governance model directly from Dan Hotchkiss.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees serve as governors of UUFA who are the primary stewards of the Fellowship. They create and oversee global policies that guide the work performed to meet the congregation’s mission, vision and covenant. They act as general staff employer and supervise the Minister (who supervises the staff). They designate to the Minister and Ministry Council programmatic responsibilities. Click here for Job Descriptions of UUFA Board positions.

The members serving on the 2020-2021 Board of Trustees are Scott Mason (President 2020-2021, board term 2018-2021), Vivian Preston Sellers (Vice President 2020-2021, board term 2020-2023), Thrane Jensen (Treasurer 2020-2021), Michelle Swagler (Secretary 2019-2021), Susan Brown (2018-2021), Susan Curtis (2019-2022), Clela Reed (2019-2022), and Lyndall Tunnell (2019-2022), Marco Messori (2020-2023)..


Thoughts from Board Members

More here: https://www.uuathensga.org/blog/2019/09/13/a-board-members-reflections/

News from the Board

Click the headlines of the summaries below for a more reader-friendly view. For summaries from previous meetings, click "SEARCH" at the top right of this page and search for "Get On Board". (Or CLICK HERE.)

Click here to read minutes of past meetings.